IS THIS REALLY A CHALLENGE?

Saying “No” to single-use plastic might seem fairly straight forward, but with only 2 days to go before my month (and hopefully a lifetime) of abstaining, it’s really dawning on me just how hard this is going to be.

My aim is to raise awareness of just how wasteful we are and how we are damaging the environment. Just take a look at how much single-use plastic you use every day and how much of it ends up in the bin – it’s shocking and let’s face it, mostly unnecessary.

Last year over 68% of beach litter found during the Great British Beach Clean was plastic. As well as looking awful, plastic litter can harm and kill wildlife and even tiny sea creatures like barnacles are known to ingest microscopic pieces of plastic.

Scroll2

So, in terms of this challenge I’ll be changing the way I shop and also the way I think. I’m already pretty environmentally aware: I use eco-friendly cleaning and skin care products, buy loose unpackaged soap, refill my washing up liquid bottles, re-use freezer bags and recycle as much as I can, but the real challenge will be going that step further.

My biggest bug-bear so far is that I’ll have to cut down on organic food. I tend to buy organic fruit and veg from the supermarket simply because it is cheaper. But, it is all packaged in plastic, so either my purse will have to take the hit by buying local, or I’ll have to buy loose, non-organic veg instead.

I’m hoping that this will be in interesting journey, and hopefully it will make you think a little bit more about your shopping habits and choices too.

We can all make a difference by putting pressure on our councils to improve recycling and by telling shops that all this excessive plastic packaging is both unwanted and unnecessary.

If you’d like to donate to the Marine Conservation Society who work tirelessly to protect our seas and came up with this challenge, then you can do so here.

Thanks for reading!

Photo credit: Marine Conservation Society
3 thoughts on “IS THIS REALLY A CHALLENGE?

Leave a Reply

